CSSC - Squash Masters 19/20 May 2017

The Squash Masters Singles and Racketball events were held once again at Nottingham Squash Club on 19/20th May, 2017. We welcomed back many of our regulars, and we were encouraged to see several new faces this year.

The Nottingham club made everyone feel very welcome, and most players and some partners attended what has become the traditional Friday evening meal provided at the club. Linda Parsley hosted her usual fun quiz to battle everyone's wits, and this year, their knowledge of 1980s popular culture. With team 'Jim Fay' emerging the winners, everyone could only think that this man doesn't drink enough beer to get his brain fuddled.

The new entrants proved very successful, resulting in four new names needing to be inscribed on the trophies. These were in the categories of Ladies O40's, Mens O35's, Mens O45's and Mens O55's.

The squash competition format was played in three leagues by combining the Mens O35 & 45's in one group, the O55 & 65's age groups in the other and the Ladies Over 40 & 50s in their own round robin group. For competitors the aim would be to finish top in your specific age group and thus be declared the CSSC Masters Champion in the age group you had entered. All matches were of equal importance, in order to put yourself in a position to win your age group.

There were some very close and competitive matches with all being played in a great spirit, a fine example being the opening O55's match between Geoff Watson and Nigel Williams which ended up being a five set thriller, eventually closed out 3/2 by Nigel.

In the O35/O45 group Kevin Hugh emerged undefeated over the two days and 5 matches. He is not only the O45 Champion but also the winner of that particular combined age group league. Both he and Neil Miles played a thrilling and close match, befitting of any final with Kevin taking the last game 15/13 narrowly edging Neil (the O35s winner) out by 2 games to 1.

In the O55/ O65 group Collis Sheik was also undefeated over the 2 days, taking the O55's Championship and emerging as the winner of the combined age groups league. Collis was pushed to a close 3/2 win by Peter Fielding in their opening match, but then settled down and only dropped a further 3 games over his other five matches. Steve Bullamore O65 played with great spirit with the younger players in this group but his victory over Rob Shepherd gave him the win that he needed to take the O65 Tony Claydon Trophy.

The ladies competition was dominated by new entrant in the O40 category Krissy Burkin. In the O50s, Previous O40s winner, Shena Ferrie moving into the next category, won the trophy in her first attempt. We were pleased also to welcome Sian Hughes, our new CSSRA Chair to the tournament Unfortunately, the Association's President, Marian Holmes, had sustained an injury and was unable to compete otherwise we would have had a match played by the Chair versus the President! Despite her recent injury, Marian was pleased to attend to present the trophies and help with the record keeping and marking.

The 2017 Champions are

Mens Masters      Champion             Runner-Up

Over 35                Neil Miles            Paul Lane

Over 45                Kevin Hugh          Jim Fay

Over 55                Collis Sheik          Nigel Williams

Over 65                Steve Bullamore   Rob Shepherd

Ladies Masters

Over 40                Kristy Burkin

Over 50                Shena Ferrie          Sian Hughes