Nottingham Squash Club was once again the venue for the 2024 CSSC Racketball (Squash 57) Championships which were held on the 15th June 2024.

 A favoured venue for many CSSC squash and racketball events in the past, the club is now run by volunteers who do their best to provide a warm and friendly welcome to players and guests.

Seven of the eight entries arrived bright and early to commence their match-play for 10:00am.
The round-robin system was used which meant that each participant had six matches to play, this kept them busy for the day.

The format was best of 3 games to 11 points, with 2 clear points being required at 10-all

There were some very entertaining matches and everyone played in a competitive and friendly manner.

240614 Peter Fielding


Peter Fielding was involved in the two of the three longest matches of the day as was Micky Gallacher. These being against Micky and Russell Bassett, Peter unfortunately being on the losing side of both, either side of the lunch break.

240614 Results

Everyone was more than ready for the break, and a cold buffet was provided courtesy of CSSC – the sandwiches were picked up and fresh on the day and were absolutely delicious :>)

During lunch ex- CSSRA President Marian Holmes played ex-CSSRA Chair Linda Parsley in what could have been a Ladies Championship Final. With a few more lady entrants this might be something that could be introduced next year.

As it came to the last round of matches both Micky Gallacher and Collis Sheik were undefeated, with Collis just edging being leader on games conceded count-back, Micky having dropped one game.

Due to a masterly insightful draw by the ‘Tournament Director’ (or a massive stroke of luck) we found ourselves in the position of the last round of matches actually including the Championship decider.

 This was a very entertaining match with both players still showing good levels of skill and fitness following the day’s exertions.

In the end the title of CSSC RACKETBALL CHAMPION 2024  went to Collis with a 12/10 15/13 victory.


The trophies were presented by Marian Holmes ( former President of CSSRA)

2024 National Champion - Collis Sheiks                                 2024 Runner Up - Micky Gallacher

240615 Champion Collis Sheik                           240615 Runner Up Micky Gallacher


The competitors and organisers (Peter Fielding missing)

Front row: L to R - Marian Holmes, Russell Bassett, Paul Clarke, Micky Gallacher, Collis Sheik, Deborah Atkinson, Cynthia Crane, Linda Parsley

Rear: L to R - Phil Crane, Neil Moore

240615 All Competitors